Take It With a Grain of Salt

18 01 2012

What Happened on 9/11?

After reading John Lindensmith’s post about new new media and consumers being the gatekeepers of news, it really started churning something that has been sitting inside of me for years.

I do not believe Osama Bin Laden and his Al Qaeda group were responsible for the attacks on 9/11/2001.

Before you get hot and bothered, let me explain why. While I do not have a finger to point at someone else, I strongly believe in the above statement.

*The point of this post is to challenge you to challenge the media. It is not to make you believe what I or my references say.*

Agenda-Setting Theory

The Agenda-Setting Theory says the media (it’s referring to old media, but it can probably extend to new media today) is able to “control” what we think about and how we think about it. This doesn’t necessarily mean they can tell us what to think, but…that often comes with it anyways. The media decides what they want to be news; they’re the gatekeepers of information dispersed to the public. And back in 2001, old media still had a lot of power  determining the newsworthiness of a topic.

So what?

Throughout the chaos that happened on 9/11, the media quickly began searching for a place to point their finger. Who did it? Who was responsible? They were ignorant in their search. The media took the first answer that came their way and never turned back.

Think about it – do you remember the media blaming anyone other than Osama Bin Laden? Did they cover news on any other possible suspects?

So looking back to the Agenda-Setting Theory, because the media only blamed one man, we only thought about one man. Because the President only blamed one group, we only thought about one group. And we thought about those people negatively – because the media did.

Always a Skeptic, Never a Cynic

Take everything you hear/see from the media (new, new new, old, social) with a grain of salt. Challenge what they are saying and why they are saying it. Look into information yourself. That’s what I did with 9/11. I saw too many holes in the events (and that’s a whole can of worms I could open, but that’s not the point). I didn’t understand why there wasn’t anyone else placed in the hot seat. I turned to websites and documentaries for help. No, I don’t have an all-encompassing answer to what happened that day, but I do know that what the government and media fed us was a load of crap.

Nothing makes money like war, right? I mean, WWII took America out of quite the depression…(<–That was my little biased rant for the day)

Check This Out

I have searched through numerous videos in search for answers, and Loose Change 9/11 seems to have some good challenges. I’m NOT saying you should accept their facts, and neither are they. The point of the documentary is to make you question and challenge the information we were given and generate your own beliefs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

